Tunnel

I don’t even know what I’m doing anymore. I feel like I’m stuck in this never-ending tunnel of darkness, and I can’t hear. I can, but it’s all muffled. I’m screaming so much, but then again maybe I’m not screaming out loud. Is the tunnel big or is it small? All I can feel around me is space. Maybe it’s not a tunnel, maybe it’s a chasm. A hole in the earth, just like the hole in my brain.
I don’t know which way is which. All I know is that if I don’t get out of here soon enough, I never will. But which way? Where am I? There’s no light here, nothing to guide me through and tell me what to do. I never really needed anyone when they were there for me, but now all I need is one light, one person telling me where it all ends.
I want to go home, but where is home? Home is where the heart is, they say, but if that’s true then my home is lost already.

-k.e.

